If you like this post then please subscribe to my full RSS feed.
You can also click here to subscribe by email. Thanks for visiting! Darran.

Thursday, August 24, 2006


Pluto is no longer classed as a planet!

2,500 experts were in Prague for the International Astronomical Union's (IAU) general assembly.

Astronomers rejected a proposal that would have retained Pluto as a planet and brought three other objects into the cosmic club.

Pluto has been considered a planet since its discovery in 1930 by the American Clyde Tombaugh.

via BBC News

So all school books will have to be re-written, and somone is going to have to make up a new mnemonic sentence instead of:

My Very Easy Method Just Sums Up Nine Planets
Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto

No comments:

Post a Comment